Throwback Thursday – Hey Diddle Diddle

A long time ago (1998-1999) in a land far away (Vermont), I was living the dream. I still lived at home with my family (my baby brother was just 7 years old then – awww!) while I attended college. I was a Fine Arts major. I had beautiful long, soft, blonde hair and listened to the same Dave Matthews + Tim Reynolds CD in my car on repeat for possibly the entire three semesters I attended Castleton College.

For some reason this wasn’t satisfying to me, so I dropped out. But that’s a story for another time. Before I dropped out, one of my projects was to illustrate a nursery rhyme. As now, I then had an obsession with stars and moons, so I chose a nursery rhyme that would allow me to include the night sky in every scene.

Hey1

I had to literally cut and paste the text on the pages…. this was before I had PhotoShop access.

Hey2

This one’s my favorite.

Hey3

The cow effortlessly levitated over the moon . . .

Hey4

This is my second favorite. I wish I’d tried an open-mouth laugh but it could have been bad.

Hey5

The face of the dish looks alarmingly like the face my boyfriend at the time.

So here we are, nearly 20 years later. (Excuse me while I try to get my heart palpitations under control at that thought.)

Do I regret dropping out of art school? Sometimes- but it is hard to imagine how my life would have turned out if I hadn’t. I did end up getting my degree later, in a different field, and of course I am still making an effort to be an artist. So I think it will all work out in the end…

2 thoughts on “Throwback Thursday – Hey Diddle Diddle

Leave a Reply

