Throwback Thursday -Tree Tattoo

Some years ago, one of my brothers asked me to sketch out a tree design for a tattoo. He wanted a design that showed all four seasons in a circular design. This was what I came up with.

I don’t think it’s very great. Even though it’s round, it’s too stiff and lifeless looking to me. I think it’s a case of me trying too hard to create something and wanting it to look a certain way, instead of just letting go and seeing where the pencil took me. 

I drew this shortly after I had gotten my degree and was feeling like a failure for not being successful in finding work in my field. I look at this and see my anxiety and insecurity in my own abilities.  

My brother ended up getting some tree and nature action tattooed on himself and gracefully hung this piece on his wall instead. Good choice. 

Leave a Reply

